On Air
Non stop Peaceful Music
  • Home
  • Uncategorized
  • ‘Interdwell’ new album by Dark Sky Alliance in Peaceful Radio Show 1593

‘Interdwell’ new album by Dark Sky Alliance in Peaceful Radio Show 1593

15 May 2024 Uncategorized

Scroll down and click on photo for website.
About the album
Spotted Peccary Music is proud to present Interdwell, the debut album from the group Dark Sky Alliance, comprised of music industry veterans percussionist Jerry Marotta (Peter Gabriel,  Hall & Oates, Indigo Girls), keyboardist Rupert Greenall (The Fixx), soundscaping synthesist Eric The Taylor, and cinematic sound-maestro guitarist David Helpling. This visionary premiere is a feat of sonic storytelling, each composition a different scene. Hidden in Interdwell’s kaleidoscopic sound are shades of all their past work: new wave guitar flourishes, tribal ambient percussion, richly layered synth-beds, Hans Zimmer- esque cinematic crescendos—but here, they coalesce into something uniquely vivid and bracingly original, something the members of Dark Sky Alliance could only make together.

Interdwell’s twelve compositions draw inspiration from the personal and the cosmic, the natural world and the fantastical. The album’s first epic opens with “Fortunate One” featuring chanting from the late Sonam Targee and builds layer upon layer from there. Halfway through, a propulsive bass groove entwines with Targee’s chants, shifting from melancholic to euphoric, a celebration of the time we’re gifted with those we love. “Warm Inlet” was inspired by a view of the Adirondacks on 7th Lake that can only be seen by boat; new wave guitar warbles paint the glimmering whitecaps, a steady bassline the powerful undercurrent, with Vangelis-esque synth chords the sun on the mountain peaks. Dreamlike and reflective, “The Slow Train Home,” was born from Eric “the” Taylor’s first ever recording session with Marotta and bassist Tony Levin (Peter Gabriel, King Crimson) over 20 years ago. Levin’s emotive upright bass glides through an electronic landscape both airy and rich, a traveler watching the hills roll by.

The title track takes the listener beyond Earth, depicting humanity’s journey through space: the tribal march of Marotta’s percussion as a voyager, Robert Rich’s shimmering sequencers as stars through the viewport, and the anthemic electric guitar of Jamie West Oram (The Fixx) as a starship’s acceleration – a distant destination finally reached.

Interdwell is a vivid, inspiring odyssey throughout, a work that carries the listener from a sun-dappled lake to the furthest reaches of space and back again, leaving only the desire to experience it all over again.

Dark Sky Alliance is comprised of four master musicians – each with a signature style, and each bringing decades of craft and creative energy: cinematic sound-maestro David Helpling, percussionist Jerry Marotta (Peter Gabriel, Paul McCartney, Hall & Oates), keyboardist Rupert Greenall (The Fixx), soundscaping synthesist Eric The Taylor (The Fragile Fate). While wholly unique in style and sound, their music reveals welcome shades of past works: new wave guitar flourishes, tribal ambient percussion, richly layered synth-beds, and cinematic crescendos, enmeshed with contributions by guitarist Jamie West Oram (The Fixx), ambient pioneer Robert Rich, virtuoso mallet player Joe Locke, bassist Tony Levin (Peter Gabriel, King Crimson), and the late Sonam Targee.           

Track Listing

1 Search (2:36)

2 Fortunate One (7:19)

3 Warm Inlet (6:42)

4 The Desert Mind (5:43)

5 Latch (3:16)

6 Interdwell (8:30)

7 The Far Cry (7:46)

8 Marotta Swamp (6:27)

9 Tré Pur (4:21)

10 The Slow Train Home (10:30)

11 Linear (5:06)

12 Bring Myself To Say It (3:05)

, , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *